Look Mom, I’m Learning!

Party hardHey everyone!

Hope your weekend was great and way better than mine! Feeling a little bit sick but my exam for my summer course is finally over!

YAYAYAYAY

In today’s segment, our team will be discussing what we learned in our position. I increased my ability to use Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator, learned how to use and some tricks on WordPress (which was my goal stated in my first post) and I learned more about York University.

Adobe Photoshop

1. The Magic Eraser tool

It’s literally like mScreen Shot 2014-08-13 at 11.52.05 AMagic…I remember I used to make the mistake of using the basic eraser tool and precisely erasing around objects for a long time. With this tool, at a click of a button you can eraser the background like this one below. Select the tool, hover over any part of the area you want gone, click and BAM, background gone! I got rid of the white background, showing this checked pattern which is a transparent background.

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 11.53.48 AM

When you save the picture, there will be no white background to it! Just the circular figure.

Tip: If you want a transparent background, make sure you save the picture as a PNG 

Adobe Illustrator  

 This summer was my first time using Illustrator. I have been watching a lot of tutorials, trying to figure out some tricks and just basic ways on how to use Illustrator. I found this really good website that had very helpful and easy tutorials.

Want to learn more about Illustrator? Check the site HERE.

WordPress

This blog was the first time I used WordPress and I am absolutely loving it! It’s easy, and super fun to write information about. I actually started another one for a more personal reason with a close friend.

1. The beautiful Toolbar ToggleScreen Shot 2014-08-13 at 10.17.26 PM

This tool exposed me to many other options to use for blogging such as change of font size&colour, indenting and underlining!

YorkU

1. YFS Coverage

The YFS provides coverage to their students that includes services such as dental care, eye care, massages, and orthotic care.

For information on all the benefits available, check the YFS site HERE.

2. Career Centre

I learned about the services available at the Career Centre, a very important department that you should check out. They do such tthings as assist you in finding a job, help you update your resume and will even assist you after 2 years of graduation!

You definitely want to check this page out HERE!

 3. Cheap options for Food

I think this should have its own blog post by itself. University is expensive and we need to do our best to save those extra dollas.

a) Blumont Bistro – $5 lunch special (any wrap of your choice)

My Body is Readyb) Treats – $3.50-5 breakfast special (breakfast bagel sandwich with or without coffee)

c) Orange Snail – big portions for an amazing price! and the couple who owns & runs the place are the cutest

d) Wendy’s – I always turn to the $2 crispy chicken snack wrap

Well that is all for now ladies and gents! In honour of the passing of Robin Williams, an inspirational actor who played a large role in my childhood, I salute you all with this gif.

Robin Williams

Leave a Reply

