Hellloooo YU Lions and Welcome

TIPS TO MAKE YOUR FIRST YEAR TRANSITION EASIER AND SOME OF MY SOCIAL MEDIA GOALS FOR THIS YEAR!

Hi everyone!

brace-yourselves

Source: here

Hear ye hear ye, my very first post on my first blog! WOOOO HOOOO

First year is finally over and wow what a year it has been. 30 credit course load, Student Council, sports and endless amounts of Thai Express (yes, I have a slight obsession with T.E. Please help me)

I am currently a second year student, majoring in Administrative Studies, Honours Marketing and affiliated with New College. I recently was hired at SCLD (Student Community & Leadership Development) as one of the Media and Communication Ambassadors. I am here to share my experience and lessons I have learned so far in my journey at York, as well as updating you on the latest social media platform tricks and tips. For more about myself, check out my About Page!

Now young grasshopper, I am here to help you on your journey to university. Many students take the transition from high school to university easily and some have a harder time. But you know what, THAT’S OKAY! We are here to help.

team-justice-leagueSource 

We’re like Team Justice League. Here to save the day. Anyways, enough superhero references.

HERE’S SOME TIPS TO MAKE YOUR TRANSITION EASIER 🙂

1. Attend Orientation Week 

As others know it as FROSH WEEK. I cannot stress this anymore. Honestly, orientation week was probably the best week of the whole year. I got to meet all the other first years in my college, was educated on what my college had to offer, and just HAD FUN!

BUT FIRST…..

2. Get to Know your College 

York has 9 colleges based on what your major is. I found it really helpful figuring out what my college is during the summer so that I can buy that specific college’s frosh kit (for Orientation Week, the kit is your ticket to attend the events. And you get awesome college swag!)

3. Get Involved with your College and York Community

York and your college have so many opportunities to get involved that suit your interests. Personally, I was more involved with my college than York wide events. Student Council is a big part of my life so that’s when I decided I would run in the New College elections. I also love sports so I joined the New College intramural team. Your college council will always update you on new events/activities/sports occurring so getting in contact with them through their social media platforms will be helpful! 🙂

NOWW RANDOM CHANGE IN TOPICS!

old spice guySource

SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORM GOALS

Honestly, this is my first time using WordPress. My main goal for this year is to understand how to use WordPress more and figuring out the small cool details you can do with this website; to explore new aspects and use my creativity to make one awesome helpful blog to all you readers.

Well, that’s all for now.

garycatchffSource

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hellloooo YU Lions and Welcome

  1. Pingback: Hellloooo YU Lions and Welcome | Media & Communications

  2. Pingback: Look Mom I’m Learning | Life in the YU Jungle

Leave a Reply

